(Edited from the IndivisibleGuide)

Since Senate Republicans are reworking TrumpCare in secret, it’s difficult to predict an exact timeline for this legislation. What we know now is this could come up for a vote as soon as the end of June. Because of an arcane process called budget reconciliation, TrumpCare is not subject to filibuster and requires a simple majority to pass the Senate. If Democrats hold firm in their opposition, that means Republican leadership will need 50 out of the 52 Republican Senators to vote for the bill.

Urge Sens. Schumer & Gillibrand to:

  • Resist through procedure.  They can draw attention to the secret process and slow down Senate business, through a combination of filibustering and  “withholding consent.” The rules of the Senate are so complicated that Senators have to regularly consent to waiving some of them so that they can actually get work done. That includes shortening time for debates, expediting consideration of amendments, and scheduling committees. Our Senators can slow the Senate down to a crawl and focus attention to TrumpCare by withholding his or her consent on legislative business.
  • Filibuster by amendment. Republicans are using a special process called “reconciliation” to jam through TrumpCare. This means they only need 51 votes, instead of the usual 60, to pass it. But the trade-off is that they have to allow an unlimited number of amendments. Any Senator can file as many amendments as they want and then call them up for a vote on the Senate floor during a period called “vote-a-rama.” Democratic Senators can and should plan thousands of amendments and keep them going until Republicans agree to have public hearings on the bill.

In addition, there are more than three Republicans that we think we can move to vote no on TrumpCare with sufficient pressure from their constituents. The frontline members that should receive some extra pressure are: Susan Collins (ME), Lisa Murkowski (AK), Dean Heller (NV), Shelley Moore Capito (WV), Bill Cassidy (LA), Rob Portman (OH), Tom Cotton (AR), Cory Gardner (CO), Jeff Flake (AZ), Pat Toomey (PA) and Dan Sullivan (AK). Call your friends and relatives who are these senators’ constituents to pressure them to vote against the Senate bill!

Start typing and press Enter to search